H|H Food & Wine H|H News

Gourmet Restaurant Awards 2016

With the end of a year comes awards season where the best of the best are recognized for this contributions to their respective industries.

Gourmet Magazine, a sister print run to Condé Nast House & Garden, was one of theses publications (Along with Eat Out Magazine , who present the Top 20 in the country as well as everyday eateries voted by the public)

On the 6th December 2016 Gourmet Magazine welcomed their inaugural Gourmet Restaurant Awards which were announced at an exclusive cocktail party hosted at picturesque Klein Constantia Wine Estate.

Judges for the Gourmet Restaurant Awards included:

Bernadette Le Roux
Gourmet Editor has published two cookbooks, has worked in publishing for 15 years and is co-owner of Cafe Roux in Noordhoek.

Neil Roake
The force behind Durban’s Freedom Cafe, Neil is also a cookbook author who travels the world as an avid food tourist.

Leigh Robertson
Our Condé Nast House & Garden Editor and long-time foodista, who has reviewed restaurants for some of SA’s most renowned local guides.

Susan Greig
Susan Greig is a contributor to Gourmet, a well-known food personality in Johannesburg and offers regular cooking classes at her studio in Hyde Park.


‘I feel that the Gourmet Restaurant Awards and their categories are about the joy of food,’

‘It’s about the excitement of being one of the first in a newly opened restaurant; the feeling of sitting in a magnificent room that’s been decorated and designed to enhance the experience; the thrill of finding an undiscovered hidden gem off the beaten track; staying over in a luxury hotel that has the added bonus of an exceptional restaurant under one roof; and the surprise factor that comes with working your way through a chef’s tasting menu.’

-Gourmet Editor Bernadette Le Roux.


Condé Nast Deputy Chairman Elizabeth Rees-Jones and Managing Director Michelle Fenwick presented the certificates to the winners. Dr Susanne Reuther of KitchenAid South Africa, who sponsored the Reader’s Choice Award (a category voted for solely by the public through social media) presented each of the winners with a KitchenAid Mixer.

There were 7 categories,with 6 nominees per category from all provinces.**

Categories included were: Best tasting menu, Best Hotel Restaurant, Décor & Design, Hidden Gem,Reader’s Choice Award, Best New Restaurant and of course an award to pay homage to the Head of the teams, The Gold Award for Consistency and Chef Excellence.

**We have contacted the Judges of the awards to confirm to criteria for each award

Best tasting menu  nominees were:

Adriaan Maree, Fermier, Pretoria

Bertus Basson, Overture, Stellenbosch

Chantel Dartnall, Restaurant Mosaic, Pretoria

Luke Dale-Roberts, The Test Kitchen, Cape Town

Margot Janse, The Tasting Room, Franschhoek

Winner: Chantel Dartnall, Restaurant Mosaic, Pretoria

The nominees for:

Best Hotel Restaurant

Luke Dale-Roberts at The Saxon, JHB

Nobu, One&Only Cape Town

The Greenhouse at Cellars Hohenhort, Cape Town

The Grill Room at The Oysterbox, Durban

View, Four Seasons Westcliff, Johannesburg

Winner: Luke Dale Roberts at The Saxon, Johannesburg

Nominees for:

Décor & Design

De Camdeboo, Drostdy Hotel, Graaff Reinet

Indochine, Delaire Graff, Stellenbosch

Tashas Sandton, Johannesburg

The Shortmarket Club, Cape Town

The Stack, Cape Town

Winner: Indochine, Delaire Graff, Stellenbosch

Nominees for

Hidden Gem:

Blueberry Café, KZN Midlands

Cheyne’s, Hout Bay

Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse, Drakensberg

Fynboshoek Cheese, Storm’s River

The Hub Café, Scarborough

Winner: Blueberry Café, KZN Midlands

Nominees for

Reader’s Choice Award:

Art of Food, Dullstroom

Boiler Room Café, Durban

Duchess of Wisbeach, Cape Town

DW Eleven-13, Johannesburg

The Leopard, Johannesburg

Winner: DW Eleven-13, Johannesburg

Nominees for

Best New Restaurant:

Ash, Cape Town

Glenda’s, Johannesburg

Marble, Johannesburg

Mulberry & Prince, Cape Town

The Shortmarket Club, Cape Town

Winner: Shortmarket Club, Cape Town

The final Award, The Gold Award for Consistency and Chef Excellence is to honour a chef who has stood the test of time and who has been consistently good over a period of time.


Chantel Dartnall, Restaurant Mosaic, Pretoria

Harald Bresselschmidt, Aubergine, Cape Town

Franck Dangereux, The Foodbarn, Noordhoek

George Jardine, Jordan Restaurant, Stellensbosch

Liam Tomlin, Chefs Warehouse, Cape Town

Luke Dale-Roberts, The Test Kitchen, Cape Town

Michael Broughton, Terroir, Stellenbosch

Scot Kirton, La Colombe, Hout Bay

Winner: George Jardine, Stellenbosch


You Might Also Like